Currency:Renminbi (RMB)/yuan

 The series of Banknote and Coin of PRC


The fifth series of RMB

    ·RMB 1Yuan    ·RMB 5Yuan    ·RMB 10Yuan 

    ·RMB 20Yuan   ·RMB 50Yuan   ·RMB 100Yuan

The fourth series of RMB

    The fourth series of RMB began to issue on April 27, 1987 by People's Bank of China, including 1 yuan, 2 yuan, 5 yuan, 10 yuan, 50 yuan and 100 yuan. The fractional currency included 10 cents, 20 cents, and 50 cents. It circulated together with the third series. The exchange ratio is 1:1. The security features included watermark, magnetic ink, and fluorescent ink.

    ·RMB 1Jiao   ·RMB 2Jiao   ·RMB 5Jiao  ·RMB 1Yuan  

    ·RMB 2Yuan   ·RMB 5Yuan    ·RMB 10Yuan  ·RMB 50Yuan

    ·RMB 100Yuan  

The third series of RMB

    The third series adopted multi-color printing technology. The security level was increased a lot by launching the hand engraving plate-making and multi-color printing technology.

    ·RMB 1Jiao   ·RMB 2Jiao   ·RMB 5Jiao   ·RMB 1Yuan

    ·RMB 2Yuan    ·RMB 5Yuan   ·RMB 10Yuan 

The second series of RMB

    The second series of RMB began to issue on March 1, 1955, by People's Bank of China. The first series was withdrawn at the same time. The exchange ratio between the second and the first series is 1:10000. The second series had five different face value, 1 yuan, 2 yuan, 3 yuan, five yuan, and 10 yuan; and six fractional currency including 1 cent, 2 cents, 5 cents, 10 cents, 20 cents, 50 cents. The second series excluded the influence from the war and contribute a lot to the economic construction. 

    ·RMB 1fen  ·RMB 2fen  ·RMB 5fen  ·RMB 1Jiao  

    ·RMB 2Jiao  ·RMB 5Jiao  ·RMB 1Yuan  ·RMB 2Yuan

    ·RMB 3Yuan  ·RMB 5Yuan  ·RMB 10Yuan  

The first series of RMB

    The first series of RMB began to issue on December 1, 1948. It had 12 different face value and 62 editions, among them, 1 yuan had two editions, 5 yuan had four, 10 yuan had four, 20 yuan had seven, 50 yuan had seven, 100 yuan had ten, 200 yuan had five, 500 yuan had six, 1000 yuan had six, 5000 yuan had five, 10000 yuan had four, and 50000 yuan had two. The first series of RMB was the only legal currency in China at that time and was circulating in China except Taiwan and Tibet. This issuance strongly supported the liberation war, meanwhile, it also made great contribution to the stabilization of the society, recovery of the production, and exchange of commodity between urban and rural areas.

    ·RMB 10Yuan   ·RMB 20Yuan   ·RMB 50Yuan  ·RMB 100Yuan 

Updated: 2012-03-27

Source: PBC / CBPMC