Construction of eco-provinces

The Outline for National Eco-Environmental Protection promulgated in 2000 by the State Council advocated the energetic establishment of eco-provinces, eco-cities, eco-counties and eco-townships. These eco-areas, whose objective is regional sustainable development, should simultaneously promote economic development, social progress and environmental protection in a unified way. Eco-designated localities should strengthen environmental protection and ecological construction, promote awareness, protect and improve the environment whilst also developing eco-industry and economy, and enhancing the quality of life. Today, trial projects are underway in eight provinces including Hainan, Jilin, Heilongjiang, Fujian, Zhejiang, Shandong and Anhui. Jilin has earmarked for 2001-2005 more than 38 billion yuan on eco-industry and eco-environment construction. Heilongjiang Province has been developing green products in line with its resources and industry. Zhejiang Province has included eco-construction into the work goal responsibility system for administrative heads at all levels of governments throughout the province.  

The government is constantly strengthening guidance and management over its ecological program activities and expanding trial ecological areas. By the end of 2004, the number of examined and approved state-level trial eco-areas had totaled 166.