Home Photo Gallery Video Chinese(GB) Chinese(Big5) Search Chinaview.cn
Li Keqiang
Zhang Gaoli
Liu Yandong
Wang Yang
Ma Kai
State Councilors:
Yang Jing
Chang Wanquan
Yang Jiechi
Guo Shengkun
Wang Yong
Yang Jing

The State Council of the People's Republic of China, namely the Central People's Government, is the highest executive organ of State power, as well as the highest organ of State administration. The State Council is composed of a premier, vice-premiers, State councilors, ministers in charge of ministries and commissions, the auditor-general and the secretary-general. The premier of the State Council is nominated by the president, reviewed by the NPC, and appointed and removed by the president. Other members of the State Council are nominated by the premier, reviewed by the NPC or its Standing Committee, and appointed and removed by the president. In the State Council, a single term of each office is five years, and incumbents cannot be reappointed after two successive terms.

The State Council follows the system of premier responsibility in work while various ministries and commissions under the State Council follow the system of ministerial responsibility. In dealing with foreign affairs, State councillors can conduct important activities on behalf the premier after being entrusted by the premier of the State Council. The auditor-general is the head of the State Auditing Administration, in charge of auditing and supervising State finances . The secretary-general, under the premier, is responsible for the day-to-day work of the State Council and is in charge of the general office of the State Council.  More >>

The Organizational Structure of the State Council
 Updated: March 16, 2013
Copyright © 2006 www.gov.cn All Rights Reserved
About Us | Contact Us