Map of Tibet Autonomous Region Monday, June 26, 2006

Map of Tibet Autonomous Region (Source:

The People's Republic of China is divided into 23 provinces, five autonomous regions, four municipalities directly under the Central Government, and two special administrative regions. As one of the five autonomous regions, the Tibet Autonomous Region is inhabited mainly by the Tibetan race.

The Tibet Autonomous Region is situated in the southwestern border area of the People's Republic of China, and the southwestern part of the Qinghai-Tibet Plateau. Lying at 78°25'- 99°06'E and 26°44'- 36°32'N, it abuts the Xinjiang Uygur Autonomous Region in the north, Qinghai Province in the northeast, Sichuan Province in the east, and Yunnan Province in the southeast. It also has a 4,000 km border with the neighboring countries of Myanmar, India, Bhutan and Sikkim as well as Kashmir in the south and west. (Source:

 Tibet Facts and Figures 2005

 Tibet Facts and Figures 2004

Editor: Yangtze Yan