Kenya | 2011-April-19 14:41 | Editor: Bi Mingxin

The following are some key facts about Kenya:


Located on Africa's east coast and straddling the equator, Kenya borders Somalia, Ethiopia, Sudan, Uganda and Tanzania. With the Indian Ocean to the southeast, Kenya covers an area of over 580,000 square km and has a 536-km coastline.

There are 42 ethnic groups in Kenya which has a population of more than 38.6 million.


Known to most anthropologists as one of the cradles of humanity, Kenya was proclaimed by Britain as its colony in 1920. Kenya declared independence in December 1963, and the Republic of Kenya was established one year later.


Agriculture, services and industry are the three pillars of the Kenyan economy. Tea, coffee and flowers are major foreign currency earners. Kenya is Africa's top flower exporter, accounting for about 30 percent of the European Union's market share.


China and Kenya enjoy a deep traditional friendship. Since the establishment of diplomatic ties in 1963, friendly relations and cooperation between the two countries have developed smoothly.

Kenya is an important cooperation partner of China in East Africa, with bilateral cooperation in economy, trade, culture and education growing steadily in recent years. In 2010, bilateral trade reached 1.825 billion U.S. dollars.